Print Icon  

Mayor and Council

Saugeen Shores Council Members


Your Council

The Mayor and Council of Saugeen Shores are committed to strengthen and strive towards improved services valued by the community while at the same time respecting our unique diversity.

Saugeen Shores Council is composed of a Mayor, a Deputy Mayor, Vice-Deputy Mayor and 6 Councillors who serve for a term of 4 years.

The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Vice-Deputy Mayor are elected at large and the Councillors are elected by Ward. Saugeen Shores is divided into 3 wards (Southampton, Port Elgin, Saugeen) with 2 Councillors elected in each ward.

It is the role of Council to represent the public and to consider the well-being and interests of the municipality; to develop and evaluate policies and programs; to determine which services the municipality provides; to ensure that administrative practices and procedures are in place to implement the decisions of Council; and to maintain the financial integrity of the municipality.

Meetings of Council and the Committee of Whole are held on the 2nd and 4th Mondays of each month. All Council Meetings are open to the public and are held in the Council Chambers located at 600 Tomlinson Drive, Port Elgin, Ontario.

Visit our Council Meetings page for an overview of how your Council conducts business.

Council Members and Contact Information

Simply click on a name above to send an email message to a council member.

Code of Conduct for Elected Officials

In 2007, in addition to their statutory obligations, the Mayor and Members of Council adopted By-law 112-2007 to establish a Code of Conduct for Saugeen Shores Elected Officials, Local Boards and Advisory Committees.